MOBILE MUSIC in concert – announcement

Apps Represented At The MOBILE MUSIC IN THE MAKING 2017
8. March 2017
Making Music on Mobile at Audio Developer Conference 2017
5. November 2017

MOBILE MUSIC in concert – announcement

How does mobile music sound on stage? How suitable are mobile apps for live performances? Musicians place high demands on the functionality, the handling and the reliability of their instruments. Everything must develop at the moment, must be expressive and at the same time intimate. On the MMM2017, experienced appmusicians will present their different approaches in a joint concert.

We are delighted to present you another highlight of the international symposium MOBILE MUSIC IN THE MAKING 2017. To show the range of possibilities for making music with apps, we asked the speakers who would like to present a 10-minute piece in a concert. Despite the short preparation time of 7 days, a bunch of musicians spontaneously reported back. In this article, we will introduce you to the protagonists in image and sound.

This is the lineup of our concert, with numerous well-known artists from different countries involved.

As a final part of the international symposium, the performance “MOBILE MUSIC in Concert” takes place on the 11th of March in the Appmusik Studio and the large lecture room. It is foreseen that the audience will move from room to room between the performances of the appmusicians. This means long conversion times and sound checks can be avoided.

UPDATE: We recorded the concert on video! The video recordings of the individual concert contributions are currently in production and will be released in the coming days in this blog.

Stay tuned …

 

RUNNING ORDER des MOBILE MUSIC in Concert on 11 March 2017 in the Appmusik Studio

 

DigiEnsemble Berlin / 20:30

The musicians of DigiEnsemble Berlin have been rehearsing weekly at the Berlin University of the Arts since 2010 – they had to say “home advantage”. They are the first professional tablet orchestra / band and have been performing since 2011 regularly concerts at major concert halls, festivals as well as on receptions or prize lending. Their work fires that the trained musicians come from quite different genres: classical, rock to electro. Their repertoire includes musical experiments as well as a show program. More at www.digiensemble.de

Gad Baruch Hinkis / 20:45

Gad Hinkis is composing electronic music, hip-hop, rapping and singing since 2000. He produced 15 albums with dozens of projects and played over 300 shows worldwide. Living in Berlin since 2009, he is the front man and producer of Dirty Honkers, a groundbreaking electro-swing band infamous for their explosive live shows, and custom made digital instruments. In 2013 Gad founded the art collective Polyjam, where he designs interactive music installations for events and festivals, such as TOA, Music Tech Fest and Jerusalem film festival. Today he is the inventor of the Polyjamer App, a social music communication system for all ages. More at http://www.polyjam.de/polyjamer

Martin Neuhold / 21:00

Since 2012 the musician Martin Neuhold works with mobile devices and apps exclusively. His music moves between ambient and downtempo up to Rock and Postrock (partly under the alias “A Dark Object”). He is inspired by nature and the environment, but also by spiritual themes. He has published more than 20 albums, also in collaboration with various other artists. In live performances – as with the MMM2017 – he tries to pick up the listeners with improvisations and sound landscapes and take them on a journey with them. More music at https://martinneuhold.bandcamp.com/

10op / 21:15

Since 2012, Michau da Silva aka 10op has produced music with apps in complement to his Ableton projects. His music he calls Tropedelic, in which playful melodies with subtle effects play easily with a wip directly to the body. His very special style in the use of his repertoire of apps he could prove on several shows in the Klunkerkranich and on private parties. The apps that are most commonly used are: nanostudio, samplr, triqtraq, korg gadget, polychord, turnado, and thumbjam. More at https://soundcloud.com/10op

Hari Karam Singh / 21:30

The musician Hari Karam Singh is also an app developer. He specializes in motion-controlled options. In the concert he plays his current app “AC Sabre” (German: Säbel) with which he remotely controls the computer as a sound generator. The app can also effectively control other apps, as demonstrated on YouTube. More at http://air-craft.co/

Stefan Gisler / 21:45

Since 1985, Stefan Gisler has been dealing with electronic music. In 2011, after buying his first iPad (iPad 2), the world of making music for Stefan changed fundamentally. After several test runs, he decided after the appearance of the first well-sounding piano app to use sounds only from tablets or smartphones in the future. No more computers with expensive plugins and always too little CPU power or hardware. Now he prefers small handy devices with infinite sound diversity and also completely new possibilities to create and manipulate sounds.

In 2013, he played his first iOS concert as part of the final examination of his school music studies. At the end of 2014, the first EP “Pad World” was released and in the meantime he has published videos on YouTube. More music at: http://stefangisler.com/music-projects/

Peter Kirn / 22:00

Peter Kirn is an electronic musician/composer, media artist, and technologist/writer. His own music has included music for dance (contemporary), music for dance floors (techno), and experimental projects, including collaborations with Vera Kochubey, Robert Lippok, Benjamin Weiss (as NERK/KIRN, on Snork Enterprises), and others, as well as his projects Imaski and Alchemic Harm (on Instruments of Discipline). He is the author of daily music and visual tech site CDM, co-creator of the MeeBlip open source synthesizer, and originator of various open technology platforms including the MusicMakers Hacklab. He runs the record label Establishment.

Short-term cancelled

Herrmutt Lobby

The well-known artist collective Herrmutt Lobby from Belgium had also registered as speakers as well as performer of the final concert. Since 1997 the individual members of the group have published on different labels – DUB, Studio! K7, Vlek, Eat Concrete, Thin Consolation, Catune – and across genres. Alongside music, they have also developed and built various software, controllers and apps. Including the music app Beatsurfing and PlayGround. More at https://herrmuttlobby.com/

Because of the strikes at the Berlin airports they tried to get to Berlin in vain. Unfortunately, they had to cancel the show. An impressive insight is provided by this video on YouTube:

Jakob Haq

Jakob Haq is known in the mobile music scene through his music app tutorials. In the concert, he wanted to present a live set. Due to the strikes, his performance has also fallen into the water, because he had to leave an evening earlier than planned. Nevertheless, we were happy about his session contributions at the MOBILE MUSIC IN THE MAKING 2017 and hope to return soon in Berlin. On his Youtube-Channel you will find more live performances.

 

We hope this line up will give an idea of what mobile music could be. Maybe there are more different styles. Do you know other experienced musicians who are regularly on the stage with apps? Recommendations and links to videos are gratefully accepted in the comments section. Maybe they will be at the next MOBILE MUSIC in concert … 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

MOBILE MUSIC in concert – Das Appmusik-Konzert 2017 – Ankündigung

Musikapps, deren Entwickler auf der MOBILE MUSIC IN THE MAKING 2017 mit dabei sind
8. März 2017
Appmusik auf der ADC’2017
5. November 2017

MOBILE MUSIC in concert – Das Appmusik-Konzert 2017 – Ankündigung

Wie klingt Appmusik auf der Bühne? Taugen Apps für Live-Performances? Musiker_innen stellen hohe Anforderungen an die Funktionsweise, die Handhabe und die Verlässlichkeit ihrer Instrumente. Alles muss im Augenblick entstehen, muss expressiv und gleichzeitig intim sein. Auf der MMM2017 stellen erfahrene Appmusiker ihre verschiedenen Ansätze in einem gemeinsamen Konzert vor.

Wir freuen uns riesig, euch einen weiteren Höhepunkt des internationalen Symposiums vorstellen zu können. Um die Bandbreite an Möglichkeiten des Musizierens mit Apps zu präsentieren, haben wir unter den Referent_innen gefragt, wer in einem gemeinsamen Konzert, in eine etwa 10-minütige Performance, etwas vorstellen will. Trotz der kurzen Vorbereitungszeit von 7 Tagen haben sich spontan eine ganze Reihe von Musikern positiv zurückgemeldet. In diesem Beitrag wollen wir euch die Protagonisten in Bild und Ton vorstellen.

Das ist das Lineup unseres großen MOBILE MUSIC-Konzertes, bei dem zahlreiche namenhafte Künstler aus verschiedenen Ländern beteiligt sind.

Als Abschluss des internationalen Symposiums MOBILE MUSIC IN THE MAKING 2017 findet das Konzert „MOBILE MUSIC in Concert“ am 11. März im Appmusik Studio und im großen Vortragsraum statt. Dabei ist vorgesehen, dass das Publikum zwischen den Auftritten der Appmusiker von Raum zu Raum hin- und hergeht. Damit können lange Umbauzeiten und Soundchecks vermieden werden.

UPDATE: Wir haben das Konzert auf Video aufgenommen! Die Video-Aufzeichnungen der einzelnen Konzertbeiträge sind aktuell in Arbeit und werden in den kommenden Tagen in diesem Blog veröffentlicht.

Stay tuned…

 

RUNNING ORDER des MOBILE MUSIC in Concert am 11. März 2017 im Appmusik Studio

 

DigiEnsemble Berlin / 20:30

Die Musiker des DigiEnsemble Berlin proben seit 2010 wöchentlich in der Universität der Künste Berlin – sie hatten so zu sagen Heimvorteil. Sie sind das erste professionelle Tablet-Orchester/Band und spielen seit 2011 regelmäßig Konzerte auf großen Konzertbühnen, Festivals sowie auf Empfängen oder Preisverleihungen. Ihre Arbeit befeuert, dass die ausgebildeten Musiker aus ganz unterschiedlichen Genres kommen: Klassik, Rock bis Elektro. Ihr Repertoire umfasst musikalische Experimente als auch ein Show-Programm. Mehr unter www.digiensemble.de

Gad Baruch Hinkis / 20:45

Der Israeli Gad Baruch Hinkis ist seit 16 Jahren mit elektronischer Musik, Hip-Hop, Rap und als Sänger unterwegs. Er produzierte 15 Alben in dutzenden von Projekten und spielte bisher über 300 Shows weltweit. Seit 2009 lebt er in Berlin. Als Frontmann und Produzent der Band Dirty Honkers ist er verantwortlich für die maßgeschneiderten digitalen Instrumenten. Im Jahr 2013 gründete Gad das Künstlerkollektiv Polyjam, das auf interaktive Musikinstallationen spezialisiert ist und auf Veranstaltungen wie das Festivals TOA, Music Tech Fest und Jerusalem Film Festival zu erleben war. Heute ist er der Erfinder der App Polyjamer – ein soziales Musikkommunikationssystem für alle Altersgruppen. Mehr unter http://www.polyjam.de/polyjamer

Martin Neuhold / 21:00

Seit 2012 arbeitet der Musiker Martin Neuhold ausschließlich mit mobilen Devices und Apps. Dabei bewegt sich seine Musik zwischen Ambient und Downtempo bis hin zu Rock und Postrock (teilweise unter dem Alias „A Dark Object“). Inspiration bezieht er aus der Natur und der Umgebung, aber auch aus spirituellen Themen. Er hat bisher mehr als 20 Alben, auch in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen anderen Künstlern, veröffentlicht. Bei Live-Performances – wie bei der MMM2017 – versucht er mit Improvisationen und Klanglandschaften die Zuhörer abzuholen und auf eine Reise mitzunehmen. Mehr Musik unter https://martinneuhold.bandcamp.com/

10op / 21:15

Seit 2012 produziert Michau da Silva aka 10op Musik mit Apps, die er zunächst als Ergänzung zu seinen Ableton-Projekten nutzte. Dabei stellen Apps auch in den Projekten wie Prima Dosis und Prima Musique eine Inspirationsquelle dar. Seine Musik nennt er Tropedelic und ist von verspielten Melodien mit dezenten Effektspielereien geprägt. Seinen ganz speziellen Stil in der Nutzung seines Repertoire an Apps konnte er auf mehreren Auftritten z.B. im Klunkerkranich und auf Privatpartys unter Beweis stellen. Seine am häufigsten benutzen Apps sind: nanostudio, samplr, triqtraq, korg gadget, polychord, turnado und thumbjam. Mehr unter https://soundcloud.com/10op

Hari Karam Singh / 21:30

Der Musiker Hari Karam Singh ist Musiker und App-Entwickler. Dabei hat er sich auf bewegungsgesteuerte Möglichkeiten spezialisiert. Im Konzert spielt er seine aktuelle App „AC Sabre“ (deutsch: Säbel) mit der er den Computer als Klangerzeuger fernsteuert. Die App kann aber auch andere Apps wirkungsvoll steuern, wie er auf YouTube demonstriert. Mehr unter http://air-craft.co/

Stefan Gisler / 21:45

Seit 1985 beschäftigt sich Stefan Gisler mit elektronischer Musik. Im Jahr 2011, nach dem Kauf seines ersten iPads (iPad 2), veränderte sich die Welt des Musizierens für Stefan Gisler grundlegend. Nach ersten Testläufen entschied er sich in Zukunft Sounds nur noch von Tablets oder Smartphones zu verwenden. Keinen Computer mehr mit teuren Plugins und immer zu wenig CPU-Leistung oder Hardware schwer zum schleppen und immer wieder bald veraltet, sondern kleine handliche Geräte mit unendlicher Soundvielfalt und auch völlig neuen Möglichkeiten Sounds zu erzeugen und zu manipulieren.

2013 spielte er sein erstes iOS-Konzert im Rahmen der Abschlussprüfung seines Schulmusik-Studiums. Ende 2014 kam die erste EP “Pad World” auf den Markt. Seit dem hat er auch zig Videos auf YouTube veröffentlicht. Mehr Musik unter: http://stefangisler.com/music-projects/

Peter Kirn / 22:00

PETER KIRN ist ein Musiker, Komponist, Medienkünstler und Technik-Autor. Er befasst sich mit Musik für (zeitgenössischen) Tanz, Musik für Tance Floors und experimentelle Projekte auch in Kooperationen mit Vera Kochubey, Robert Lippok, Benjamin Weiss (als NERK / KIRN, bei Snork Enterprises) sowie mit Imaski und Alchemic Harm. Peter Kirn ist Autor der bekannten Tech-Blogs CDM, Mitentwickler des MeeBlip Open Source Synthesizers, Urheber verschiedener offener Technologieplattformen inklusive des MusicMakers Hacklab und leitet das Plattenlabel Establishment.

 

Kurzfristig Ausgefallen

Herrmutt Lobby

Auch das bekannte Künstler-Kollektiv Herrmutt Lobby aus Belgien hatten sich sowohl als Referenten als auch als Performer für das Abschlusskonzert angemeldet. Seit 1997 haben die einzelnen Mitglieder der Gruppe auf verschiedenen Labels veröffentlicht – DUB, Studio! K7, Vlek, Eat Concrete, Thin Consolation, Catune. Neben der Musik haben sie auch verschiedene Softwares, Controller und Apps entwickelt und gebaut; darunter die Musikapp Beatsurfing und PlayGround. Mehr unter https://herrmuttlobby.com/

Aufgrund der Streiks auf den Berliner Flughäfen versuchten sie es leider vergeblich nach Berlin zu gelangen. So mussten sie schweren Herzens leider noch absagen. Einen imposanten Eindruck liefert dieses Video auf YouTube:

Jakob Haq

Jakob Haq ist in der Appmusik-Szene bekannt durch seine Musikapp-Tutorials. Im Konzert wollte er ein Live-Set vorstellen. Leider ist durch die Streiksitutaion auch dieser Beitrag ins Wasser gefallen, denn er musste einen Abend früher als geplant abreisen. Trotzdem waren wir glücklich über seine Session-Beiträge auf der MOBILE MUSIC IN THE MAKING 2017 und hoffen auf einen baldigen Besuch wieder in Berlin. Auf seinem Youtube-Channel findet ihr viele weitere Live Performances.

 

Wir hoffen dieses einmalige LineUp wird dem Anspruch gerecht, einen stilistischen Überblick über die Praxis von Live-Auftritten mit Apps zu geben. Aber sicher gibt es noch mehr spannende Vertreter_innen. Kennt ihr noch weitere erfahrene Musiker_innen, die mit Apps regelmäßig auf der Bühne stehen? Empfehlungen und Links zu Videos nehmen wir dankbar im Kommentarbereich entgegen. Vielleicht sind sie dann beim nächsten MOBILE MUSIC in Concert dabei… 🙂

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.